MHCC   User Fee Assessment  

****NOTICE**** 

At the December, 2023 Commission meeting, the Commission modified the time frame for recalculation of user fee assessment so that a new assessment allocation period will become effective on July 1, 2024 and end on June 30, 2026.

Maryland Code Annotated, Health-General (H-G) §19-111(d)(2) provides that every four years, the Commission shall recalculate its workload distribution to determine appropriate user fee assessments on payors, hospitals, nursing homes, and health care practitioners. This Notice modifies Commission regulations, at COMAR 10.25.03.02, which provide that the current 4-year user fee assessment period ends on June 30, 2021. (See also COMAR 10.25.02.02 regarding health care practitioners).

This two-year bridge in the reallocation of the user fee will allow the Commission to remain consistent with the statute requiring a 4-year recalculation and avoid maximum impact to the industries assessed.

Any effect of H-G §19-111(d)(2), COMAR 10.25.03.02, or COMAR 10.25.02.02 that is inconsistent with the foregoing Notice is hereby suspended

For information on the presentation of the workload distribution along with the corresponding regulations listed above, please visit the Commission’s website. The proposed regulations keep the current user-fee allocation in place until June 30, 2026.

This Notice is effective on December 15, 2023 and shall remain in effect until June 30, 2026.


The Maryland Health Care Commission is an independent regulatory agency whose mission is to plan for health system needs, promote informed decision-making, increase accountability, and improve access in a rapidly changing health care environment by providing timely and accurate information on availability, cost, and quality of health care services to members of the public and to policy makers, providers, and payors.

In order to accomplish our mission and program functions, the Commission requires operating funds, which are special funds that are collected through an assessment on the health care providers and payors that we regulate. Currently, the Commission assesses:

  1. Payors for an amount not to exceed 26% of the total budget;
  2. Hospitals for an amount not to exceed 39% of the total budget;
  3. Health Occupational Boards for an amount not to exceed 16% of the total budget; and
  4. Nursing Homes for an amount not to exceed 19% of the total budget

The amount is derived differently for each industry and is set every four years based on an analysis of the commission's work load

Annual User Fee Assessment Survey

If there are any questions regarding the assessment process, you can contact Brian Banschbach at (410) 764-5593 or by email at brian.banschbach@maryland.gov. 

A copy of the most recent work load report can be viewed here.

A copy of the current fiscal year methodology calculation can be viewed here


Last Updated: 1/30/2024