Health Information Technology   Electronic Health Networks  

An electronic health network (EHN, network, or medical care electronic claims clearinghouse) exchanges electronic health care transactions between payors and providers. COMAR 10.25.07, Certification of Electronic Health Networks and Medical Care Electronic Claims Clearinghouses, requires third party payors that accept electronic health care transactions originating in Maryland to accept electronic health care transactions only from MHCC certified EHNs.

To receive MHCC certification or recertification, a network must be accredited or certified by a nationally recognized organization where standards are evaluated related to privacy and confidentiality, business practices, physical and human resources, technical performance, and security.  To apply for certification, an EHN must complete the MHCC EHN Certification or Recertification Application, submit the application fee, provide evidence that the network is nationally accredited, and include the assessment documentation used in the accreditation or certification process.  The MHCC may request additional information to complete its evaluation of an EHN’s application. The MHCC EHN certification is valid for two years.  


Electronic Health Networks Overview Flyer (2019)

This informational flyer provides an overview about the role of EHNs and those certified by MHCC.

Assessment of Cybersecurity Readiness Assessment:  A Best Practices Review (2017)

The MHCC has developed the Assessment of Cybersecurity Readiness Assessment that an EHN might use to help prepare for national accreditation, and to better understand the cybersecurity best practices being followed by the EHN.  This document is intended to provide guidance to EHNs as they continue to develop and improve their cybersecurity plans.

MHCC Certified EHNs

Certification Process

MHCC EHN Certification and Recertification

1] National accreditation/certification organizations currently recognized by MHCC include: The Electronic Healthcare Network Accreditation Commission (EHNAC); and The Health Information Trust Alliance (HITRUST).

Last Updated: 8/19/2019